FUN-DA-MENTAL have been described as the Asian Public Enemy, and their new album, ‘Seize The Time’, has been hailed as the most awesome collision between hip hop, noise and polemic since ‘Fear Of A Black Planet’. Two good reasons why we decided to catch F-D-M in action. Some people think Fun-Da-Mental are a bit extreme. But then, if racial attacks against my people had gone up 300 per cent in the East End this year alone, if my country had had its thriving textile industry broken up by the invading colonialist power so as not to threaten their own industrial revolution (as happened in India), if I originated from a hemisphere that had been economically bloodsucked, starved, exploited for hundreds of years, if I wasn’t welcome in my own country, I’d feel a bit extreme, too.

(click here to read more)

